Sewing Inspiration: Wrapped Up

Ever since I received Simple Sew’s Lena Wrap Dress pattern with this month’s issue of Love Sewing Magazine I’ve been drooling all over wrap dresses … it’s only been a few days since the start of the affair!

img_0566
I’ve been on loads of websites like TopShop, Simply Be and White Stuff as well as good old Pinterest to get inspiration and see what fabrics have been used.

I have a warning though ⚠️ – there are a lot of pictures here and I have tried to give credit where I got the image!

Ok, now the fun bit!  Me talking what inspires me about each picture!

I love this velvet dress for all the reasons that it is a velvet wrap dress – I love the colour, it’s a gorgeous pastel pink and with it being velvet, it’s going to be warm! That a big tick in my book!

Processed with MOLDIV
I stumbled on this pattern and I have to honestly say it’s going straight onto my patterns to get list! It just speaks to me for a summer holiday! Cue Cliff Richard … 🌞🏄🏻‍♀️

Processed with MOLDIV
I’m not sure that this is still available to date but it’s a great variation on the wrap dress!

Processed with MOLDIV

Burda has a great offering, particularly those who want that velvet wrap dress … eeeek another one on that list! I’m really needing to do a #maketwenty2017 list rather than a #makenine2017 list at this rate!  But hang I think this may be a too clingy fit for me so I’ll hold ma horses!

Processed with MOLDIV

This wrap dress has a gorgeous dress, I’ve still to see if it’s still available or if there is an alternative … stunner of an occasion dress (maybe Christmas 🎄)
Processed with MOLDIV

Sew Over It’s Lisa Comfort looks so glam in her version of the wrap dress. I could and probably will add her Ultimate Wrap Dress to my collection soon – no surprises there then!

Processed with MOLDIV

This dress was pull from my Pinterest feed and I adore the colour and the drape – but wondering what fabric it is! Any ideas?

Processed with MOLDIV

Now when I first saw this image on Pinterest I thought it was “Carrie” from “Sex and the City” but on closer inspection, I don’t think it is.  But wow the wool looks good on a wrap dress, such a different structure and so elegant!

Processed with MOLDIV

This Pleated version from Topshop is gorgeous!  Can you tell I’m immediately drawn to berries and wine colours?  I had to look really closely as I couldn’t believe it was velvet – until now I didn’t think it was a thing.  WOW!

Processed with MOLDIV

A really nice floral wrap dress and it’s from Simply Be.  I don’t normally shop in Simply be as I’m not a fan of most of the materials that they use in the clothes.  But I like the shape and colour of this dress.  Probably I’ll like it until I feel it!

Processed with MOLDIV

I really like the cut on this one.  I think this be viscose as it looks quite drapey, although I could be wrong!

Processed with MOLDIV

Ooooh!  Something to mix it up – a long wrap dress (which is quite similar to the simplicity pattern I showed you earlier.  This could be ideal for going out or a wearing it on a cool summer night!

Processed with MOLDIV

I was a bit mixed about using this image as it’s a bit booby!  But I like the deep red fabric. If I ever get a low cut like this then a cami goes on underneath to protect my dignity! Possibly a crepe mix? Jersey?

Processed with MOLDIV

This floral version is from White Stuff.  It’s quite different from the picture above and it’s something I would consider age appropriate for myself and not booby!

Processed with MOLDIV

This slit is a bit high in this one but I like the light-weight fabric that has been used.  The longer sleeves are a plus too.

Processed with MOLDIV

I hope you’ve enjoyed my commentary all about wrap dresses and maybe given you some inspiration.  Hopefully, you’ll get an insight of what kinda style I’d go for and possibly colour.  I think Lena will be making an appearance pretty soon – It’s safe to say this affair is going pretty viral!

Emma

Disclaimer: Credit has been given to images.  This post is NOT sponsored.  All opinions are my OWN.

 

One thought on “Sewing Inspiration: Wrapped Up

Leave a Reply

